Shaftesbury Cycling Club

Result of Open 25 Miles Time Trial

Saturday 23rd April 2022

Course F2a/25

Timekeepers: Tim and Wally Groves

Event Secretary: Ian Jackson 37 Mill Lane, Danbury, Chelmsford, Essex, CM₃ 4LB Mobile: 07976 964408

Email: 25organiser@shaftesburycc.uk

Awards

Men							
ıst	Matthew Smith	DRAG2ZERO	48:39	£40			
2nd	Joris W <mark>itstok</mark>	Cambridge University CC	49:45	£25			
Women							
ıst	Jackie Field	CC Ashwell	58:05	£40			
Handicap							
ıst	Simon Butteriss	Ely & District CC	34:46	£40			
2nd	Simon McCartney	CC London	36:19	£30			
3rd	Jacob Lewis	Cambridge University CC	37:10	£25			
4th	David H <mark>odsman</mark>	Dulwich Paragon CC	39:33	£20			
Veteran Plus							
ıst	Roger Porter	Verulam CC	+ 17:15	£40			
2nd	Roger Sewell	Wisbech Wheelers	+ 14.51	£30			
=3rd	Matthew Reader	Verulam CC	+ 14.03	£25			
= 3rd	Virginia McGee	a3crg	+ 14.03	£25			
Fastest Team of 3							

Verulam CC 2:56:07

Matthew Reader, Roger Porter, Graham Pepperdine £10 each

One Rider, One Prize, except for Team Award

Those riders eligible for more than award have been given the higher value award

Visit our Website at www.ShaftesburyCC.uk for details of all Club promotions and activities

		No. 11	al l	0.1	25	Handicap		VTTA	
Pos	No	Name	Club	Cat	25 mls	Time Pos		Plus Pos	
1	80	Matthew Smith	DRAG2ZERO	٧	48:39	43:03	20	+ 18:05	2
2	10	Joris Witstok	Cambridge University CC	S	49:45	38:09	4		
3	40	Adam Fisher	Cambridge CC	S	52:44	42:27	16		
4	43	Simon Butteriss	Ely & District CC/B&T Motor Repairs	V	53:14	34:46	1	+ 13:18	8
5	60	Rob Young	Team Vision Racing - Silverhook	V	53:50	44:26	37	+ 13:41	7
6	20	Matthew Reader	Verulam CC	٧	54:20	43:11	23	+ 14:03	5=
7	50	Richard Evans	North Essex Velo	V	55:16	45:46	46	+ 12:40	14=
8	31	Robert Barker	Kettering CC	V	55:28	39:34	6	+ 12:15	16
9	15	Neil White	Ambion Racing Team	V	55:37	41:23	11	+ 13:15	9
10	56	Karl Read	North Norfolk Whs	V	56:22	39:57	7	+ 12:45	11
11	48	Jacob Lewis	Cambridge University CC	S	57:21	37:10	3		
12	65	Wolfgang Emmerich	London Phoenix CC	V	57:29	45:12	43	+ 11:54	19
13	25	Michael Martin	CC Ashwell	V	57:38	43:36	26	+ 12:01	17
14	35	Jackie Field	CC Ashwell	WV	58:05	44:21	32=	+ 18:13	1
15	54	Simon McCartney	CC London	V	58:10	36:19	2	+ 8:45	31
16	55	Steve Burrows	Vive Le Velo	V	58:31	46:09	48	+ 12:40	14=
17	76	Philip Jones	Peterborough CC	V	58:50	42:30		+ 12:41	13
18	5	Jonathan Durnin	Welland Valley CC	V	58:54	44:25	36	+ 8:49	30
19	61	Will Shepherd	Ely & District CC/B&T Motor Repairs	V	59:02	43:35	25	+ 8:29	33
20	37	Gary Jackson	Shaftesbury CC	V	59:09	41:30	12=	+ 12:44	12
21	41	Adrian McHale	Peterborough CC	V	59:16	43:24	24	+ 7:51	37
22	71	Adrian Killworth	Welland Valley CC	V	59:17	43:54	31	+ 9:20	26
23	11	Simon Geraci	Swift Racing	V	59:25	43:05	21	+ 9:27	25
24	42	Paul Birkin	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	V	59:38	42:35	19	+ 10:54	22
25	26	Roger Porter	Verulam CC	٧	59:49	43:07	22	+ 17:15	3
26	66	Paul Looke	Shaftesbury CC	V	59:55	43:43	28	+ 9:12	28
27	58	Alex Warburton	Velo Schils Interbike RT	S	1:00:06	40:22	9		
28	79	Iain Tebbutt	Coalville Whs	V	1:00:32	41:09	10	+ 8:35	32
29	21	Barrie Whittaker	Lyme Racing Club	V	1:01:02	44:56	40	+ 11:13	20
30	57	Edric Hobbs	VTTA West Group	V	1:01:05	43:37	27	+ 8:51	29
31	33	Matthew Cook	Bedfordshire Road RT	V	1:01:07	42:07	14	+ 7:03	40
32	62	James Johnson	Welwyn Whs	V	1:01:22	44:22	35	+ 7:45	38
33	46	Noel Toone	Kettering CC	V	1:01:35	45:10	42	+ 9:16	27
34=	14	Dominic Whitehead	Cambridge CC	V	1:01:37	42:21	15	+ 9:54	23
34=	32	Roger Sewell	Wisbech Whs	V	1:01:37	44:34	38	+ 14:51	4
36	18	Simon Ward	Welland Valley CC	V	1:01:50	41:30	12=	+ 6:20	41
37	63	Graham Pepperdine		V	1:01:58	43:51	30	+ 7:58	
38	27	Susan Triplow	CC Sudbury	WV	1:02:15	44:21		+ 13:10	
39	52	Bob Quarton	Wolsey RC	V	1:02:19	45:17	44	+ 11:09	
40	17	Chris Symonds	North Road CC	V	1:02:21	44:46	39	+ 5:10	
41	78	Andrew Glessing	Shaftesbury CC	V	1:02:24	44:21		+ 8:08	
42	67	Virginia McGee	a3crg	WV	1:02:34	45:09	41	+ 14:03	
43	28	Peter Harridge	Tyneside Vagabonds CC	V	1:02:47	42:29	17	+ 9:51	
44	77	David Prom	San Fairy Ann CC	V	1:03:03	45:48		+ 5:20	
45	73	Matthew Clarkson	Wisbech Whs	V	1:04:41	43:45		+ 3:42	44
46	49	David Hodsman	Dulwich Paragon CC	S	1:05:08	39:33	5		
47	59	Judy Brown	Newmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club	WV	1:05:39	40:08	8	+ 12:00	
48	44	Sandra Burrows	Vive Le Velo	WV	1:07:47	46:14		+ 8:13	
49	13	Geoff Fletcher	Shaftesbury CC	V	1:09:15	45:33		+ 1:36	
50	19	Stephen Hitchcock	CC Sudbury	V	1:11:14	46:56		- 3:04	_
51	74	Brian Martin	Ciclos Uno	V	1:12:27	48:11	51	+ 2:56	
52	8	John Murphy	Gloucester City Cycling Club	V	1:14:29	54:16	52	+ 7:43	39

Pos	No	Name	Club	Cat	25 mls	Handicap		VTTA	
POS	NO	Name	Club	Cat	25 mis	Time	Pos	Plus	Pos
	12	Andrew Walsh	Audax UK	V	DNF				
	64	Andrew Nunn	CC Ashwell	V	DNF				
	69	Paul Chase	Shaftesbury CC	٧	DNF				
	2	Peter Horsnell	Chelmer CC	V	DNS(A)				
	3	John Hassall	Bossard Whs	V	DNS				
	4	Paul Breeze	Peterborough CC	٧	DNS(A)				
	6	Mark Ready	Diss & District CC	V	DNS(A)				
	7	Rob Moore	Shaftesbury CC	V	DNS(A)				
	9	Alex Tringham	CC Bexley	S	DNS(A)				
	16	Andrew Clarke	North Shropshire Wheelers	V	DNS(A)				
	22	Peter Main	34 Nomads CC	٧	DNS				
	23	David Yates	High Wycombe CC	V	DNS(A)				
	24	Roger Hutchings	VC Merlin	٧	DNS(A)				
	29	Phil Bailey	Loose Cannon's Conditioning	V	DNS(A)				
	30	Stuart Hourigan	VeloRefined Rule 5	V	DNS(A)				
	34	Stephanie Cousins	QN Racing	WV	DNS(A)				
	36	Richard Moule	Bossard Whs	V	DNS(A)				
	38	Geoff Bores	Ford CC	V	DNS				
	39	Edward Birdsall	University Of Manchester CC	S	DNS				
	45	Dan Jenkins	Southend Wheelers	V	DNS(A)				
	47	Ian Stokes	Team Salesengine.co.uk	V	DNS(A)				
	51	Robert Gilmour	Hounslow & District Whs	V	DNS(A)				
	53	Chris Womack	VC Baracchi	٧	DNS(A)				
	68	Andrew Grant	Chelmer CC	V	DNS(A)				
	70	Nic Pillinger	Team Secret Squirrel	V	DNS(A)				
	72	Stephen Murphy	Shaftesbury CC	V	DNS				
	75	Daniel Homer	London Phoenix CC	V	DNS(A)				

Back in the days when there were enough riders to fill the complete field with those slower than the limit we still had some fast times and were always pleased we could give up and coming riders a chance to get a ride on a fast course. In 2013, riding his first 25, a certain Matthew Smith won the event in 54.42. Nine years later he's done it again. OK, we've had to open the race to all but it was nice to see Matt again.

Despite the strong wind making the Caxton – Madingley section very tough there were some excellent times. Simon Butteriss improved his PB by 6:33, Jacob Lewis improved by 4:06 and Joris Witstok by 2:40. Pity about the number of non-starters though.

The Shaftesbury have now been promoting the 25 for 55 years, the first 54 with a MM limit. Maybe it's time we dropped the MiddleMarkers title but we will still try to give preference to slower riders.

Organising a race involves a lot of people and I and all the riders owe a debt of gratitude to the many helpers who are all needed to run a safe and enjoyable event and these are:

Kat and Millie Hodey (signing on/off and refreshments), Derek Brandon (Start Marshal), Kevin Baumber, Scott Beard, Phil Hodey, Doug King and Kevin Youell (Caxton Gibbet), Richard Austin, David Barrett, John Harrison and Andrew Wenham (Madingley), John Smith (Finish Area Recorder), Keith West (Results) and Geoff Fletcher (Signage). Because of delays and closure of the M11 their attendance was even more appreciated. Special mention to Chris Dyason (Cambridge CC) who placed the difficult signs at Caxton at the crack of dawn and also put the warnings by the pothole. Lastly and by no means least, we must thank Tim and Wally Groves (Timekeepers) for their always accurate efforts. Without these volunteers we would not be able to promote our ever successful events and again I Thank You.

So that we can distribute the prize awards would the winners please contact me with their Bank details, PayPal account details or a request for a cheque. (<u>25organiser@shaftesburycc.uk</u>)